NSWJRU State Championship Trophies (Archive Project week #3)

U18 Boys – The N.S.W.J.R.U Shield

🏆 Current Holders – Randwick Rugby Juniors

🏆 2021 Host Venue – North Narrabeen Reserve & Rat Park, hosted by Narrabeen Tigers Junior Rugby Club

🏆 Tournament History – The U18 Boys Shield has been awarded to the winner of the NSWJRU U18 State Championships from 1980-present.

The NSWJRU Shield is an existing Shield for the U18 Boys State Championships. We actually found a couple of different versions of this Shield in the archives at NSW Rugby. Probably explained by the fact that over the years it has gone through many changes and has been played at U17, U18 & U19 age levels – sometimes a combination of these ages in the same year. The Shield has been replaced and updated to reflect its vast array of historical results – thanks to Graham Kelly from Awards@Ryde for his work on these Shields.

With the improvements to the U18 pathway and the fact the pathway from club rugby now makes players eligible for the Australian Schools & U18 team, we hope to see continued growth in this age group. The 2021 U18 Boys State Championships was the largest number of teams entered for as long as we can remember.

As an added boost to the U18 State Champs program, in 2021 we selected an U18 NSW Barbarians Rep team from only participants who competed at the event. (click here for 2021 team list) This Rep team had games scheduled against ACT Schools, Victorian Schools, NSW Schools I & II, but unfortunately COVID-19 meant these games did not get played. We plan on selecting this NSW Barbarians team again in 2022 – so an added incentive for players to participate at the State Champs.

That is the last of the existing Trophies – next week the first of the new dedications.

State Champs Trophies list released so far….
🏉 U14 Boys – The Hawton Trophy
🏉 U16 Boys – The Chas Hansen Trophy
🏉 U18 Boys – The N.S.W.J.R.U Shield

Sydney Junior Rugby Union NSW Country Rugby Union NSW Country Junior Rugby Union Waratahs Shute Shield NSW Suburban Rugby Union Sydney Women’s Rugby Union Sydney North Rugby Referees – SNRR Sydney South Rugby Referees Association Sydney West Rugby Referees Association Southern Districts Juniors Penrith District Junior Rugby Union Eastern Suburbs Rugby Union Sydney University Football Club West Harbour Junior Rugby Two Blues Juniors – Rugby Union Gordon Junior Rugby Club Inc Eastwood Juniors Rugby Northern Suburbs Junior Rugby Union Warringah Rats Junior Rugby Union Manly Junior Rugby Union (MJRU) Illawarra District Rugby Juniors Central Coast Junior Rugby Union Central West Junior Rugby Union Western Plains Sub Junior Rugby Union Hunter Junior Rugby Union Central North Junior Rugby Union New England Junior Rugby Union Mid North Coast Junior Rugby Union Far North Coast Rugby Union ACT Junior Rugby Union The Rugby Club Foundation #positiverugbyfoundation #pathways #juniors #genblue #GrassRoots #statechamps